April 10, 2019

Mauritius IS NOT on the European Union (EU) list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions

The EU list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions is composed of countries that have either failed to deliver on their commitments to comply with required good governance criteria or did not commit to do so at all.

The overall goal of the EU list is to improve tax good governance globally, and to ensure that the EU's international partners respect the same standards as EU Member States do.

According to the revised list, 15 countries, namely American Samoa, Aruba, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Dominica, Fiji, Guam, Marshall Islands, Oman, Samoa, Trinidad & Tobago, United Arab Emirates, US Virgin Islands and Vanuatu, have been blacklisted.

The fact that Mauritius does not appear on this list is testimony to the country’s continuous determination in ensuring that it remains in line with international standards in respect of governance, tax transparency and compliance. Mauritius’s adherence to best practices further reinforces the island’s reputation as a leading International Financial Centre.