February 03, 2021

Entry into Force of the UK-Eastern and Southern Africa Economic Partnership Agreement

Since the 1st of January 2021, Mauritius and the UK now trade under the United Kingdom (UK) - Eastern and Southern Africa (ESA) Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA).


The UK- ESA EPA is an agreement based on the EU –ESA interim Economic Partnership Agreement (iEPA). The provisions of the Agreement are similar to those of the EU-ESA iEPA.


The UK-ESA EPA contains 3 chapters namely:


  • Trade in Goods,
  • Fisheries and
  • Development Cooperation.  


Mauritius will continue to benefit from duty free, quota free access on all products, including that of high export interest such as sugar, tuna, garments, agro processed products, on similar terms as the EU-ESA IEPA.  The Rules of Origin applicable are similar as well.  The use of the EUR 1 Certificate of Origin will be maintained. 


Source: Economic Development Board